PHANTASMAGORIA Act 1, Scene 1

PHANTYASMAGORIA

A full length english play

Jay Crisostomo IV

Image

Our revels now are ended. These our actors,

As I foretold you, were all spirits and

Are melted into air, into thin air:

And, like the baseless fabric of this vision,

The cloud-capp’d towers, the gorgeous palaces,

The solemn temples, the great globe itself,

Ye all which it inherit, shall dissolve

And, like this insubstantial pageant faded,

Leave not a rack behind. We are such stuff

As dreams are made on, and our little life

Is rounded with a sleep…

THE TEMPEST, Act 4 Scene 1

William Shakespeare

 

 

Characters:

Doctor Istanislao; The head physician of the Milan Mental Health Institute

Doctor Ferdinand; A young bright doctor, newly hired in the Milan Health Institute

Sister Arisa; A middle aged nun with repressed sexual desires

John Doe; a man bandaged from head to toe, no one knows his real name

X; a young male patient

Y; a young female patient

Setting:

The Milan Mental Health Institute, a pristine white walled facility which caters to the rich and mentally insane.

The Play:

Act 1, Scene 1

It is FERDINAND’s first day on the job. ISTANISLAO and ARISA have just finished showing him around the place. They stop by a door on the hallway.

ISTANISLAO

So do you have any questions, Dr. Ferdinand? I hope I explained everything clearly.

FERDINAND

You run a good institution, sir. I am thrilled to start working with the patients here at the Milan.

ARISA

I agree, Dr. Ferdinand, this place is blessed by The Lord. Especially now that a bright new star has entered our midst. (Reads from FERDINAND’s file) Doctor Ferdinand de Goya, graduated this year from the a good medical school, top of his class, rejected a high position from an exclusive private hospital, oh I do my research Doctor, to work here for a mere fraction of the salary. Oh, we are surely blessed, Doctor Ferdinand.

FERDINAND

You don’t need to be so formal, Sister. You can call me Ferdinand, and if you don’t mind, I will call you Arisa.

ARISA

(Insulted) Heavens, no! Our titles are important. They are as important as work itself. Why, I would not know how to function if someone dared use my name without its preceding title. So please. Let me be Sister, and let you be Father.

Ferdinand is dumbfounded.

ISTANISLAO

Ho. Ho. You learn our ways soon enough, boy. Never make a move on a nun. Ho. Ho.

ARISA

Doctor!

ISTANISLAO

You are new, Ferdinand. You are allowed to make mistakes on your first day.

ARISA

On the other hand, you are the leader, the head of this institution. Please approach it with the same respect and decorum as a man in your position should.

ISTANISLAO

On the other hand, there’s no changing a lecherous dog like me!

ARISA

My Lord!

FERDINAND

I apologize, Sister Arisa. It will never happen again.

ARISA

‘Twas but a light sin. But please never make that mistake again, Dr. Ferdinand.

FERDINAND

I understand.

ISTANISLAO

Anyways, if you have any questions you can either ask me or the Sister here. We are very excited to see the good work you’ll put in Milan, young boy. Such energy. Such life in the youth! It’s enough to make me jealous. Beat. I have patients to attend to, if you would excuse me so that the two of you lovebirds would get better acquainted. In privacy. In sex privacy. Ho ho.

ARISA

I will now proceed to bathe the stench of sin away. Excuse me. (Exits)

A scream from the door.

FERDINAND

(Startled) What was that doctor?

ISTANISLAO

A poor soul. He was brought here by a generous benefactor with severe burns. No one has ever seen his face. No one even knows his name.

FERDINAND

A John Doe?

JOHN DOE

(From Within) Please, please, set me free. Give me movement. Give me breath! I need to go now. I need to be. Please, please, oh these things hurt so much, the carve to the flesh. Please, please.

FERDINAND

(Tries to open the door.) Doctor, we might be able to do something.

ISTANISLAO

(Stops FERDINAND) There are something’s that even we cannot do. You will learn soon enough, Ferdinand. Soon enough.

JOHN DOE

For the love of God. For the love of everything true and beautiful, please let me be. Just let me be.

ISTANISLAO

Because of the generosity of his benefactor, he is given bed, food, shelter, and medicine. That is all we can do. You are welcome to try and cure him, but I pray that failing will not dampen your zeal.

JOHN DOE

Please!

FERDINAND

We must try. It is our duty. (Enters through the door)

ISTANISLAO

(Shrugs) Oh well. I tried to tell him. You just can’t cure everybody. (Exits.)

This site is paid by ideas. Go ahead. Comment.

