PHANTASMAGORIA Act 1, Scene 2

PHANTASMAGORIA Act 1, Scene 2

 Image

(As ISTANISLAO exits the false wall is lifted to reveal a darkened room containing only a gurney in the center. On the gurney is JOHN DOE held down to the bedding by thick leather straps. His entire body is bandaged except for some parts of the face for the actor’s task and his vanity.)  

 

JOHN DOE

Please just let me be. I need to. I need to. Step forward, one foot, one inch, one millimeter. Oh! The sun is hot and I burn with it. My sandals have been torn away and the baked earth starts to consume my very flesh, little bits of stone making its way between muscle, bone, tearing the very sinews! Oh I must go forward. On! On! 

 

FERDINAND

Excuse me. S-sir.

 

JOHN DOE

(Suddenly sits up) Give me water. Give me pause. Let me rest. I am so tired. Forgive me, I do not think I can even go on, move forward, a foot, an inch, a millimeter. I am burning! Forgive me, just let me burn.

 

FERDINAND

(Scared, but mans up) Sir let me hold your hand. Let me—

 

JOHN DOE

(Grabs FERDINAND’s hand) But I must! Mustn’t I? I must. For what? What lies beyond the horizon, what dreams, what conquest? What spurs me to crawl the dessert, dragging naked flesh against the crags of broken rock? Is it love? Is it god? 

 

(JOHN DOE grabs his head, he begins to convulse. FERDINAND steps back in fear.) 

 

Stop it! Stop it! I cannot. Cannot you hear me? Cannot you hear me? My mind is willing but my body is broken, so is my spirit, my soul. Please just let me go.

 

FERDINAND

What do you need? Medicine? Anesthetics? 

 

(JOHN DOE lets out a primal scream and falls back to his bed.)

 

JOHN DOE

(Barely audible) I need to go. I need to go. The voice is telling me to walk to the sun.

 

FERDINAND

I do not understand…

 

JOHN DOE

It is simple, doctor. You need to let me go.

 

FERDINAND

(Taken aback by JOHN DOE’s sudden lucidity) F-forgive me. I cannot let you go. What you need is help.

 

JOHN DOE

Help unasked is no help at all.

 

FERDINAND

What is your name?

 

JOHN DOE

I am traveller. That is all I am. You need to let me go.

 

FERDINAND

You are sick. And I will give you what you need. (Takes hold of the bed) Come on, come on.

 

JOHN DOE

No. Please don’t! Don’t let me go to sleep. Please! Please. I am alright. I’ll be good, I promise. I won’t shout anymore. I’ll keep quiet. If that’s what you want, I’ll be quiet.

 

FERDINAND

All we want is for you to be well.

This site is paid by ideas. Go ahead. Comment.

